2013 Legendary Team – Tasmania Schoolboys Team of 1977

2013 – Tasmania Schoolboys Team of 1977

The Tasmanian Football Hall of Fame Legendary Team for 2013 is the Tasmania Schoolboys team of 1977.

The Tasmania team successfully contested the Australian State Schools National Football Carnival (ASSNFC), which was held in Hobart from 21 August to 2 September 1977 at the North Hobart and KGV Ovals. All teams played in one competition for the prestigious Queen Elizabeth Silver Jubilee Cup.

Tasmania has a history of participation in carnivals for talented high-school-aged players dating back over 100 years. When the program became an official ‘schoolboys’ carnival in 1923 Tasmania was at the forefront of organisation and participation. In more recent times, Tasmania has fully supported the AFL’s decision to manage and fund the program and has competed in Division Two of the AFL National Carnival since 1996.

While many famous football names have first represented Tasmania at this level—including Peter Hudson, Royce Hart, Ian Stewart and Darrel Baldock—the state has also recorded many other football achievements at this level. Arguably one of the highest points for Tasmanian schoolboy football came during the 1977 carnival in Hobart.

The Tasmania Schoolboys team of 1977 was coached by Rod Radford and captained by David Riekie.


> The carnival consisted of teams from all states and territories and all teams played each other in a round robin format. As a consequence, the Tasmania team played and won seven games in ten days against the best schoolboy footballers in the nation.

> This was the first and only occasion that Tasmania had won the ASSNFC at a full national level beating all comers.*

> Selection in a 20-player All-Australian squad was achieved by a record six Tasmanians: David Cornelius, Garry Jago, David Riekie, David Douce, Noel Peters and Robert Semmens.

> Tasmanian player David Cornelius won the State Carnival best and fairest award, the Marshall Medal.

> There was incredible public support for the team, especially in the game against Victoria, held prior to a TFL finals game, in which Tasmania won by four points, and again in the deciding game against New South Wales on the last day, which Tasmania won by three points to maintain its unbeaten record. • The game between Tasmania and Victoria was telecast live by the ABC and commentated by Tim Lane.

> Two members of the team have passed on: Team Manager Denis Scully and full back Max Jamieson, who played an heroic role in the crucial win against Victoria.

Tasmania’s winning sequence – 1977

Schoolboys National Carnival – Hobart, 1977
Date Team Score Team Score Crowd Venue
23-Aug Tasmania 11.10 (76) ACT 5.3 (33) 300 NHO
24-Aug Tasmania 6.13 (49) SA 7.4 (46) 500 KGV
25-Aug Tasmania 12.4 (76) WA 8.8 (56) 400 NHO
27-Aug Tasmania 8.10 (58) Victoria 8.6 (54) 5000 NHO
29-Aug Tasmania 16.8 (104) Queensland 3.4 (22) 300 NHO
30-Aug Tasmania 17.11 (113) NT 4.3 (27) 300 KGV
1-Sep Tasmania 7.8 (50) NSW 7.5 (47) 2000 NHO

* Tasmania has won restricted carnivals in 1954, 1955, 1956, 2003, 2008 and 2010.

Tasmania 11.10 (76) defeated ACT 5.3 (33)
Best: Peters, Semmens, Riekie, Riewoldt, Carter, Rianbow.
Goals: Semmens 3, Cornelius 3, Riewoldt 2, Peters, Morton, Riekie.
Tasmania 6.13 (49) defeated South Australia 7.4 (46)
Best: Carter, Douce, Roozendaal, MacMurray, Ralston, Cornelius.
Goals: Riewoldt 2, Sheehan, Peters, Semmens, Morton.
Tasmania 12.4 (76) defeated West Australia 8.8 (56)
Best: Semmens, Douce, Cornelius, Peters, Jago, Riekie.
Goals: Ralston 2, Roozendaal 2, Peters 2, Kreune 2, Morton 2, Semmens.
Tasmania 8.10 (58) defeated Victoria 8.6 (52)
Best: Douce, Peters, Semmens, Riekie, Cornelius, Jameson.
Goals: Morton 2, Kreune 2, Peters, O’Halloran, Riewoldt, Ralston.
Tasmania 16.8 (104) defeated Queensland 3.4 (22)
Best: Cornelius, Riekie, Kreune, Coppleman, Jago, Walker.
Goals: Kreune 6, Cornelius 2, Frazer, Peters, Morton, MacMurray, Woodward, Van Der Wal, Ralston, Riekie.
Tasmania 17.11 (113) defeated Northern Territory 4.3 (27)
Best: Riewoldt, Cornelius, O’Halloran, Frazer, Coppleman, Kreune.
Goals: Kreune 6, Peters 3, Cornelius 2, MacMurray 2, Riewoldt, Frazer, Jamieson, Riekie.
Tasmania 7.8 (50) defeated New South Wales 7.5 (47)
Best: Morton, Semmens, Riewoldt, Rickie, O’Halloran, Carter.
Goals: Semmens 4, Ralston, Kreune, Van Der Wal.

Tasmania Squad List – 1977
Name Previous Club
David Riekie – Captain Hobart
Andrew Morton Clarence/Hobart
Brendon Sheehan Devonport
Brett Woodward Riverside/Launceston
Chris Riewoldt Clarence
Craig Fraser Rose Bay/Hobart
Craig O’Halloran Irishtown
David Cornelius New Norfolk
David Douce Latrobe
Garry Jago Red Hills/Deloraine
Greg Bransden Ross
Gregory Ralston Smithton
John MacMurray New Town/North Hobart
John Van Der Wal Devonport
Lester Rainbow Winnaleah/Scottsdale
Mark Coppleman Clarence
Mark Kreune Clarence
Max Jamieson New Norfolk
Noel Peters Glenorchy
Peter Free Glenorchy
Peter Roozendaal Scottsdale
Robert Semmens East Launceston
Stephen Morgan Ulverstone
Stephen Walker East Launceston
Timothy Carter Clarence
Rod Radford – Coach Claremont High School
Denis Scully – Manager Queechy High School
David Probert – Organiser Claremont High School
Peter Fish – Organiser Education Department