327. Kent Abey

Player Inductee

Tassie Mariners/Ulverstone/Tasmanian Devils/North Hobart/Morningside,
Key Forward, 1998-2018

11 games, 9 goals for Tassie Mariners (TAC Cup), 1998-99
54 games for Ulverstone, 1998-2002
12 games, 4 goals for Tasmanian Devils, 2002-03
14 games, 30 goals for North Hobart, 2003
305 games, 787 goals for Morningside (QAFL/NEAFL), 2001; 2004-18
Morningside Co-Captain, 2009-16
Ulverstone NTFL premiership, 2000
North Hobart SFL premiership, 2003
Morningside QAFL premierships 2004, 2009, 2010, 2014
Morningside Leading Goal Kicker 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2010, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015
Joe Grant Medal, 2010 (Best on Ground, QAFL Grand Final)
8 games, 13 goals for Queensland/NEAFL North, 2005-14
Zane Taylor Medal, 2007 (Best QLD interstate player)
QAFL Team of the Year 2007, 2008, 2011, 2014, 2015
Morningside Games Record Holder (305)
QAFL All-Time Leading Goal Kicker (787)

One of the most decorated Tasmanian players of the 21st Century, Kent Abey first played with the Tassie Mariners and hometown club Ulverstone as a tall and athletic forward/wingman. An Ulverstone senior premiership player and NTFL representative in 2000, he later played a handful of VFL games for the Tasmanian Devils before moving south to join North Hobart, with whom he collected his second premiership medallion in 2003 under Brendon Bolton.

At 22 years of age Abey appeared set for a distinguished career in Tasmania, however in 2004 he relocated to Queensland, and it was here that his career truly blossomed. Abey had played several games for QAFL club Morningside in early-2001 while looking at universities, and upon re-joining the Panthers he quickly established himself as the finest Centre Half Forward in Queensland football. With his strong marking, pace on the lead and deadly accurate left boot Abey was a genuine match-winner, often saving his greatest performances for the biggest stage.

Appointed Morningside co-captain in 2009, he held the position for eight seasons, leading the club to three QAFL premierships, including the magnificent 2010 triumph over Labrador. This match was perhaps Abey’s finest hour: facing a 20-point final quarter deficit against a side boasting several ex-AFL stars, Abey led from the front with six goals to claim the Joe Grant Medal as ‘Best on Ground’. In addition to his club success, Abey also shone in representative football, turning out eight times for Queensland/NEAFL North teams and winning the Zane Taylor Medal as the state’s best player in 2007, when his five goals helped Queensland down Tasmania by 10 points at York Park.

After 16 brilliant seasons with Morningside, Abey retired at the end of 2018 as one of the club’s most revered legends; earlier that season, he had become the fifth player – and first from Morningside – to pass the milestone of 300 senior QAFL/NEAFL games. A nine-time Morningside leading goal-kicker, his final tally of 787 goals for the club set a new QAFL record, passing Owen Backwell’s mark of 767. Arguably the greatest feather in Abey’s cap however is his spotless disciplinary record, never once suspended or even reported in 21 seasons of senior football.